Money saving tips

Hi, I am in my early twenties and I was wondering if anyone had any money saving/budgeting tips?

2 Likes

I’m not very good at saving money! I seem to spend it far too quickly.
A few things that I think helps
Meal planning has helped me. I used to have a lot of wastage, and also end up in a supermarket hungry buying everything that didn’t make a full meal.
I now shop once a month in Aldi to get bulk items and then elsewhere more regularly (online sometimes) which seems to have saved a little.
Batch cooking - if you have regular meals you eat it’s good to batch cook & freeze.
Taking lunch to work & planning lunches in advance.
I sell items I don’t use anymore on Vinted & Ebay. I also look on these sites for 2nd hand before buying.
I try to use top cash back or Avios when purchasing online.
I like Monzo - to help save. You create pots with targets and then transfer into those pots to see your pots growing and hit your goal. I do this for my expensive hairdresser & holidays - I add money each month to the pot so it’s not one big hit.
I have in the past air b&b my spare room from time to time if I have something I’d like but can’t afford.
Not sure if you have a parking space - but you can rent it out.
Hope this helps x

1 Like

Also I believe Chase do a current account bank account that gives you 1% cash back on all spend.

Normally if there’s something I see and really want to buy, I’ll take a screenshot and wait a month. If for that month I can’t stop thinking about the item, I’ll let myself buy it - it definitely has stopped a lot of impulse purchases x

Thiese might sound so obvious but it actually changed the game for me!!