Gardening how-to

Does anyone know any good books or inspo for creating a beautiful garden? I am a complete beginner, so much information out there and not sure where to begin!

Alice Vincent – who is @noughticulture on Insta and Twitter – has lots of gardening tips online, plus a book (Amazon.co.uk) and I really enjoy her Gardens Illustrated columns.

I also follow The Land Gardeners – they’re really good at approaching gardening from a sustainable, climate-friendly way: https://www.instagram.com/thelandgardeners/

1 Like

I’d recommend these two books for beginners!

https://www.waterstones.com/book/from-seed-to-bloom/milli-proust/9781787137349

2 Likes

We were just given this for our new home: Amazon.co.uk

So far has been so useful! Especially if you’re a beginner like us x

1 Like

Highly recommend going to the Kew Gardens gift shop for this, there’s lots of inspiring gardening books and a very cute vibe! x

1 Like

Author and inspirer for beginners is Lucy Bellamy - she did a great book on garden in a year - very practical and contemporary in design - she has written several books - containers are also good to start off with.

1 Like

So much love for this post! Listen to Sarah Raven’s podcast, there is a mini series in there that’s focused on gardening for beginners. Get inspired on the Farmer Gracy website and IG - they are very good at replying to DMs as well if you have questions. Also beyond basic but head to your local gardening centre and ask Qs there - the staff are always so knowledgeable and will help you, especially if you know what soil type you have and which way your garden faces.

IG accounts: @WolvesLaneFlowerCompany (they have a great book, too)
@MilliProust (also has a book)
@ZoeWoodwardGardening
@McCormickCharlie (unreal dahlia Inspo)

Have fun! x

1 Like

Love Monty Don!

1 Like